Zucchero

30.07
22:30

Zucchero Sugar Fornaciari will play Suikerrock 2017 on Sunday July 30 !

The Italian superstar has an impressive track record and a rock-solid live reputation.
He played our festival back in 2004, and is making a welcome return to ‘sugartown’ Tienen!

Zucchero (Italian for sugar, but we figure you’re already on board here) got his nickname from a former teacher, his actual name is Adelmo Fornaciari, but in the end he decided to use it as an artist name.

It was the 1987 album ‘Blue's’ that made Fornaciari a household name in Italy, and near countries. But Zucchero saw his career launched on the international scene with the album ‘Oro Incenso e Birra’, a collaboration with Eric Clapton which sold more than eight million copies up to date. And it wasn’t just Clapton who got charmed by the Italian artist: Over the years he collaborated with international artists such as Bryan Adams, the Blues Brothers, Bono, Jeff Beck, Ray Charles, Joe Cocker, Elvis Costello, Miles Davis, Peter Gabriel, John Lee Hooker, B.B. King, Mark Knopfler, Brian May, Luciano Pavarotti, Iggy Pop, Alejandro Sanz, Sting and many others. Dustin Hoffman is a self-declared Zucchero fan, and Miles Davis once rang him at 4 AM inviting him to record a duet together.
It was Zucchero who discovered the enormous talent Andrea Bocelli had to offer, he also was an ambassador for Nelson Mandela’s 46664 anti-aids project, and he was the only artist who performed in two cities (Paris and Rome) on the same day during Live8.

One could actually write a whole book by just recapitulating Zucchero’s whole career.  In his four decades as a recording artist, he sold more than 60 million albums and scored numerous hits like  ‘Senza Una Donna’, ‘Diamante’, ‘Wonderful World’, ‘Diavolo in me’ and ‘Il Volo’.

His latest album ‘Black cat’ was released in April 2016, resulting in the ‘Black Cat’ tour that will extend into 2017 and also take him to our stage in July. ‘Black Cat’ features the song ‘Streets Of Surrender ('S.O.S')’,  with lyrics written by Bono and guest appearance on guitar by Mark Knopfler. It also contains the Italian version of that song ‘Ci Si Arrende’, which is dedicated to the victims of the November 2015 Paris attacks

Don’t miss Zucchero’s Black cat tour at Suikerrock 2017 on Sunday July 30.  

http://www.zucchero.it
Share

Zucchero

30.07
22:30

Zucchero Sugar Fornaciari joue à Suikerrock 2017 au dimanche, le 30 juillet !

Il viendra muni d’un œuvre impressionnant et une réputation extrêmement solide. Zucchero a déjà visité notre festival, en 2004, et sera donc de retour dans la ville sucrière de Tirlemont !  

Zucchero – le mot italien pour le sucre, mais probablement vous l’aviez déjà deviné – a obtenu son surnom d’un instituteur. Adelmo Fornaciari (son vrai nom) s’est décidé très rapidement d’utiliser ce surnom comme nom d’artiste.

En 1987, son album ‘Blue’s’ fût le premier grand pas dans sa carrière en Italie et les pays adjoints. Après, il s’est montré sur la scène international grâce à l’album ‘Oro Incenso e Birra’, une collaboration avec Eric Clapton. Jusqu’à présent, plus de 8 millions d’exemplaires en sont vendus. Ensuite, d’autres artistes ont également découvert son charme doux : entretemps, Zucchero a travaillé avec (entre autres) Bryan Adams, The Blues Brothers, Bono, Jeff Beck, Ray Charles, Joe Cocker, Elvis Costello, Miles Davis, Peter Gabriel, John Lee Hooker, B.B. King, Mark Knopfler, Brian May, Luciano Pavarotti, Iggy Pop, Alejandro Sanz ou Sting. L’acteur Dustin Hoffman est un grand fan, et d’après l’histoire, à un certain moment Zucchero a eu un coup de fil inattendu de Miles Davis pour enregistrer un duo. A 4 heures le matin… C’était aussi Zucchero qui a découvert l’immense talent s’appelant Andrea Bocelli, ou qui était ambassadeur pour le projet anti-sida ‘46664’ lance par Nelson Mandela. Pendant Live Aïd, Zucchero était le seul à se montrer sur deux scènes au même jour, l’une à Paris, l’autre à Rome.

Il n’est vraiment pas difficile d’écrire un livre en récapitulant la carrière impressionnante de Zucchero. Au cours de 40 années, la vente de ses albums dépasse sans problème 60 millions de copies. En plus, ‘Senza Una Donna’, ‘Diamante’, ‘Wonderful World’, ‘Diavolo in me’ ou ‘Il Volo’ font partie de notre mémoire commune.

Son dernier album ‘Black Cat’ date depuis le mois d’avril 2016. Le tour qui en suivait, sera prolongé au cours de 20107 et l’emmènera sur notre podium, au mois de juillet. Chansons connues de cet album ‘Black Cat’ sont entre autres ‘Streets Of Surrender’ (‘S.O.S.’) dont le texte était écrit par Bono et avec une apparition spéciale par Mark Knopfler sur guitare, ou la version italienne de ‘Ci Si Arrende’, dédiée aux victimes des assauts parisiens en novembre 2015. 

http://www.zucchero.it
Share